What you need to know about CAFTA

Global Women's Project | Wed, May 7, 2003

By Farah Fosse
Did You Know That:
  • The U.S.-Central American Free Trade Agreement (CAFTA) is a free trade agreement that is currently being negotiated between the U.S. and the five Central American nations: Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Costa Rica.
  • The negotiations officially began on January 8 and will continue once a month until December of 2003. The six negotiating governments plan to have the treaty finished and ready for approval by their national legislatures by the end of 2003.
  • Many trade experts think of CAFTA as an extension of the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), the agreement between the US, Canada and Mexico. NAFTA has had extremely negative impacts on workers and marginalized peoples in all three countries.

PDF icon CAFTA_Facts.pdf61.06 KB
PDF icon CAFTA_Facts.pdf61.06 KB