Center of Concern President Hosts Panel Presentation for 20th Annual Corporate Counsel Institute at Georgetown University Law Center

Center of Concern | Tue, Mar 15, 2016

Source: Center of Concern

Center President Lester A. Myers organized and hosted a panel presentation at the Georgetown University Law Center 20th Annual Corporate Counsel Institute on March 10, 2016. The session was entitled, “Embracing Corporate Responsibility: What is the Corporate Counsel’s Role as Valued Advisor?” and included globally prominent thought and executive leaders in corporate citizenship and responsibility Bennett Freeman, John T. Friedman, and Stephen B. Young. Journalist and media advisor Roshini Rajkumar moderated the discussion. Les is an alumnus of the law center and has been a member of the Corporate Counsel Institute’s Advisory Board for nine years.

The program featured a discussion of the ways that corporate counsel can work with other senior organizational leaders and board members in articulating a principled, mission-integrated approach to corporate citizenship and responsibility, with authentic regard for stakeholder interests, quality growth, and the long-term value proposition of the organization.

John T. Friedman is the Center’s secretary-treasurer, a Huffington Post columnist, and a prominent thought and executive leader in corporate citizenship and sustainability. Roshini Rajkumar is a well-known journalist, brand strategist, executive coach, and keynote speaker. Bennett Freeman is a globally prominent thought and executive leader in sustainability, corporate responsibility, and governance, and served as senior vice president for sustainability research and policy at Calvert Investments and deputy assistant secretary of state (twice). Stephen B. Young is the global executive director of the Caux Round Table, an internationally renowned author and speaker on corporate responsibility, and a Center Creative Voice.

For photo: from left to right are John T. Friedman, Roshini Rajkumar, Bennett Freeman, Stephen B. Young, and Lester A. Myers.